AGM of The Australian National Imams Council (ANIC)

The Australian National Imams Council (ANIC)

6th Annual General Assembly Meeting 2012-2013

22nd May 2013

The Australian National Imams Council (ANIC) held its sixth Annual General Assembly meeting on Sunday the 19th of May 2013 at the office of Grand Mufti of Australia in Fairfield, Sydney and it was hosted by Council of Imams NSW. Thirty Five Imams representing all the States of Australia including the Grand Mufti of Australia Dr Ibrahim Abu Mohamed have attended the meeting.

The meeting began with an opening ceremony. Imam Mohamed Khamis, the President of the Council of Imams, NSW welcomed the guest Imams from interstates , followed by an opening address delivered by Imam Abdul Azeim Afifi, the president of ANIC. Grand Mufti of Australia Imam Dr Ibrahim Abu Mohamed addressed the meeting with an emotional appeal to all Imams to be united in their approach and recognize the diversity of Muslim community in Australia.

ANIC General Assembly elected a 19 member Executive Committee for 2013/15.

Following is the list of Executive members and Office bearers for next two year term;

. President:                   Imam AbdulAzim Afifi VIC

. Vice President:          Imam Riad ElRifai SA

. Secretary:                   Imam Shady Alsuleiman NSW

. Assistant Secretary:  Imam Fawaz Kamaz NSW

. Treasurer:                  Imam Mohamadu Nawaz VIC

. Assistant Treasurer: Imam Imraan Husain QLD

. Fatwa Committee:     Imam Ibrahim Abu mohamed (Mufti of Australia) NSW

Imam Shabbir Ahmed NSW

Imam Mohammad AbuEid VIC

Imam Essa Mousa VIC

Imam Asadullah Tariq Syed QLD

o Executive Committee Members : Imam Yahya Safi NSW

Imam Abdulsalam Zoud NSW

Imam Abdulla Al- Hawari VIC

Imam Yusuf Peer QLD

Imam Amin Abou Samaha SA

Imam Hisham Obeid WA

Imam Burhaan Mehtar WA

Imam Adama Konda ACT


Copyright 2007