Cabinet increases State''s honorary, incentive awards

Cabinet increases State''s honorary, incentive awards


The Cabinet's decision to increase value of the State's honorary awards to KD
20,000 and its incentive awards to KD 10,000 constituted an acknowledgement and
appreciation to all the talents this country embraces, the Minister of
Information said on Sunday.

Sheikh Salman Sabah Al-Salem Al-Humoud Al-Sabah, also Minister of
State for Youth Affairs, told KUNA that this decision was passed in the
Cabinet's latest session, upon a request made by National Council for Culture,
Arts and Letters.

The awards are given to talented persons who enriched the culture
of this country with grandeur gestures in the realms of culture, arts, social
science and humanities. This appreciation from the State will, hence,
"enhance loyalty and belonging to this beloved country," Sheikh
Salman noted.

The minister extended his appreciation to His Highness the Amir
Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, His Highness the Crown Prince Sheikh
Nawaf Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, His Highness the Prime Minister Sheikh Jaber
Mubarak Al-Hamad Al-Sabah and the Cabinet for their ongoing support.

The State's honaray award's higher committee, which supervises the
award and chooses the winners, includes Professor Sadoun Al-Jassim, Dr. Adnan
Shihab Al-Deen, Dr. Abdullah Al-Ghunaim, Dr. Mohammad Al-Faili, Dr. Sulaiman
Al-Shatti, Dr. Moudhi Al-Homoud and Dr. Mansour Bu-Khamsin.

The State's honorary award's first edition began in March 1999 upon
a cabinet decree. In 2001, the award was granted for the first time when Kuwait
was chosen to be the Arab cultural capital. The State's incentive award,
meanwhile, was initiated in June 1988 and it was first granted in 1989 in the
fields of arts, literature, social science and humanities. 


Copyright 2007